Fading Starlight

711qClgE0oL

A Tale of Unexpected Friendship and Old Hollywood Glamour

Lauren Summers is in hiding. Her fashion house internship was supposed to launch her career, but a red carpet accident has left her blackballed. The only job she can find comes with little pay, but at least offers a free place to live–a rundown cottage in the shadow of a cliff-side mansion. Planning to live on savings until she figures out what’s next, she’s unprepared to be contacted by a reporter.

Kendall Joiner is researching Charlotte Montgomery, a former Hollywood ingénue who lives a reclusive life in the cliff-side mansion. Rumors have swirled for decades about Charlotte and now, Kendall wants to find the real story. In return, she may just have the key to getting Lauren back into the fashion world. With all her dreams in front of her, Lauren’s not sure she can turn down the offer, but as she and the old woman get to know more about each other, Lauren realizes nothing is quite as it seems.

Reviews and Endorsements for Fading Starlight

“Lauren Summers is a talented fashion designer on the rise, but a fluke wardrobe malfunction on the runway brings an abrupt end to her hopes of a career in fashion. With paparazzi questioning her and her bosses and clients turning on her, Lauren runs to Santa Barbara, Calif., where she gets a job making costumes for a school play. The job comes with a rent-free cottage in a secluded neighborhood, but when Lauren realizes that it is a fixer-upper right next to the home of Charlotte Montgomery, an unpleasant and mysterious older woman, she doubts it is really part of God’s plan. Despite all Lauren’s efforts to make friends with her, Charlotte likes to keep herself and her past a secret. When Kendall Joiner, a hard-core reporter, comes to Lauren with information regarding the culprit behind the wardrobe malfunction, she promises Lauren will get her old job back. Kendall, however, wants information regarding Charlotte. Cushman brings realism and depth to Lauren’s economic, career, and ethical struggles. After considering Kendall’s proposal, Lauren realizes she is more like Charlotte than she believed and is unwilling to hurt the friendship that does not yet exist. Cushman’s talent is spectacular in this heartening story of putting others first.” – Publishers Weekly

“An inspiring plot that brims with Old Hollywood suspense, vintage fashion and modern frustrations.” – RT Book Reviews

“A great read for fans of Rachel Hauck and Robin Jones Gunn.”– Christian Retailers + Resources